Tiny Magnets and Tiny Amps

December 3, 2011 § Leave a comment

This past week I played a set with The Smoking Section at Grace St. Tap. Our friends Tiny Magnets opened. Tiny Magnetoid Brian Cremins was playing his shiny Tele through a great-sounding little Fender Champ, and I had my trusty Silvertone 1484. As soon as we started the Smoking Section set my amp started humming like it’d forgot all the words, and even though it turned out to be a pedalboard issue, Brian immediately stepped right up and handed me his amp. I’d never played a show with such a small amp before, and I gotta say it was pretty darn cool! I wound up swapping between the two amps for clean and dirty sounds through the set (again, it was a pedal problem) and both amps gave me just what I wanted. I am not about to start hauling multiple amps to gigs –more likely I’m gonna try to fix my darn pedalboard– but it was loads of fun! Thanks Brian!

–jmg–

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tiny Magnets and Tiny Amps at Joe Griffin.

meta

